clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Hall Of Fame Tip-Off Matchups All Set (Yes, All Of Them)

Getty Images

Over the past couple of weeks, I've added quite a bit of information to the Early Season Events section of this site. Most of the tournament-related news for the 2012-13 season has focused on naming host teams, with full brackets and schedules being the exception rather than the rule. While I was in Sarasota at a Spring Training game yesterday afternoon, I received an e-mail from the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame's Greg Procino that changed that. After the jump, the full roster of matchups for the 2012 Hall Of Fame Tip-Off.

For this eight-team event, the host schools: Ohio State (Big Ten), Rhode Island (A-10), Seton Hall (Big East), and Washington (Pac-12) will participate in the Naismith Bracket. Note that the Buckeyes are the only NCAA participant in the top flight. There are two in the Springfield Bracket, the quartet of visiting teams composed of Albany (America East), Loyola (MAAC), UMKC (Summit), and Norfolk State (MEAC). Those eight will play on Saturday and Sunday, November 17 and 18, 2012 at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn., with the following semifinal games set.

Springfield Bracket Semifinals (Nov. 17)
Loyola (MD) vs. Norfolk State
Albany vs. UMKC

Naismith Bracket Semifinals (Nov. 17)
Seton Hall vs. Washington
Ohio State vs. Rhode Island

As each team will play four games in the Hall of Fame Tip-Off, here's how the campus site games break down.

Friday, November 9
Norfolk State at Rhode Island
UMKC at Seton Hall
Albany at Ohio State

Sunday, November 11
Loyola at Washington

Monday, November 12
Norfolk State at Seton Hall

Tuesday, November 13
Albany at Washington

Friday, November 23
UMKC at Ohio State
Loyola at Rhode Island

Two things stand out for me regarding this event in mid-March. First, it's clearly Ohio State's to win, and secondly, it's very possible that Rhode Island could go 0-4 given the fact it hosts two NCAA Tournament teams and is the only non-postseason qualifier in a difficult Naismith bracket at the Mohegan Sun. However, a lot can change in eight months.

Enjoy this post? Follow Blogging the Bracket on Twitter and Like the site on Facebook.