Tag: early season tournaments

Change Scope

Filter By

Plenty Of Early Season Event Updates

Just as I was wrapping up a post building my own brackets for these events, I see ESPN released a whole bunch of early season event fields today. I've used my lunch hour to update the Early Season Events page. And I'll have to rework my post to something more retrospective next week. Lots of interesting nuggets in these brackets, most notably that ESPN has included non-bracketed games for its events on the printable brackets.

Puerto Rico Tip-Off Field Officially Released With One More Change

UNC Asheville slides in to replace Southern Mississippi, who was listed in previous lineups. N.C. State will be a heavy favorite in this one, but watch out for Tennessee. I've updated the Early Season Events page with this info and a few other minor nuggets that have popped up over the past few days.

Anchorage Daily News: Great Alaska Shootout Field Set

Belmont is the only NCAA Tournament team in the 2012 field, while Oral Roberts is the lone of the seven Division I teams that made the NIT. Of the other five, just Loyola Marymount closed the 2011-12 campaign with a winning record. Once again, Alaska-Anchorage was unable to secure a Power Six conference team for its tournament, with UC Riverside, Charlotte, Northeastern, and Texas State rounding out the field.

UMass In Puerto Rico Tip-Off

Per Pacific's release about its participation in the Anaheim Classic of all places. The Minutemen's inclusion would keep an A-10 team in the field after Xavier's move to the Southern California event.

UNI, Not Miami, In Las Vegas Classic

Per WCFCourier.com, Colorado, Indiana, and New Mexico will be part of the major bracket at this event, after they each host two mid- or low-majors.

Murray State Replaces Penn State In 76 Classic Field

The Racers' logo is now on the tournament website. The Thanksgiving weekend event is now back to the full complement of eight teams.

More Early Season Event Updates

This page now includes info on the Chicago Invitational Challenge, Las Vegas Classic (Christmas-time tournament), South Padre Invitational, and the Legends Classic.

Diamond Head Classic Field Finalized

Northeastern will be the 7th team heading to Honolulu to join host Hawai'i in this tournament.

Diamond Head Classic Field Announced

Well, seven of the eight teams were. Not on the list are two teams mentioned in previous media reports, Georgia, and NC State. Sidney Lowe had committed the Wolfpack to this tournament, according to this Andy Katz blog post, but they aren't in the field, at least not yet.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Blogging the Bracket

You must be a member of Blogging the Bracket to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Blogging the Bracket. You should read them.

Join Blogging the Bracket

You must be a member of Blogging the Bracket to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Blogging the Bracket. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.