Conference Changes For 2014-15


The 2014-15 will likely conclude a drawn-out conference realignment cycle which started with a few moves in 2011-12, continued with several more for 2012-13, reaching its apex in 2013-14.


(H/T to Team Rankings for the idea)

Team From (2013-14) To (2014-15)
Appalachian State Southern Sun Belt
Davidson Southern Atlantic 10
East Carolina Conference USA American Athletic Conference
Elon Southern Colonial
ETSU Atlantic Sun Southern
Georgia Southern Southern Sun Belt
Idaho WAC Big Sky
Louisville American Athletic Conference ACC
Maryland ACC Big Ten
Mercer Atlantic Sun Southern
Oral Roberts Southland Summit
Rutgers American Athletic Conference Big Ten
Tulane Conference USA American Athletic Conference
Tulsa Conference USA American Athletic Conference
VMI Big South Southern
Western Kentucky Sun Belt Conference USA

American Athletic Conference

2013-14 2014-15
Cincinnati Cincinnati
Connecticut Connecticut
Houston East Carolina (from C-USA)
Louisville (to the ACC) Houston
Memphis Memphis
Rutgers (to the Big Ten) SMU
USF Temple
Temple Tulane (from C-USA)
Tulsa (from C-USA)

Atlantic 10

2013-14 2014-15
Dayton Davidson (from the Southern Conference)
Duquesne Dayton
Fordham Duquesne
George Mason Fordham
George Washington George Mason
La Salle George Washington
UMass La Salle
Rhode Island UMass
Richmond Rhode Island
St. Bonaventure Richmond
St. Joseph’s St. Bonaventure
Saint Louis St. Joseph’s
VCU Saint Louis


2013-14 2014-15
Boston College Boston College
Clemson Clemson
Duke Duke
Florida State Florida State
Georgia Tech Georgia Tech
Maryland (to the Big Ten) Louisville (from the American Athletic Conference)
Miami Miami
North Carolina North Carolina
N.C. State N.C. State
Notre Dame Notre Dame
Pittsburgh Pittsburgh
Syracuse Syracuse
Virginia Virginia
Virginia Tech Virginia Tech
Wake Forest Wake Forest

Atlantic Sun

2013-14 2014-15
ETSU (to the Southern Conference) Florida Gulf Coast
Florida Gulf Coast Jacksonville
Jacksonville Kennesaw State
Kennesaw State Lipscomb
Lipscomb Northern Kentucky (transitional, ineligible for the conference title)
Mercer (to the Southern Conference) North Florida
Northern Kentucky (transitional, ineligible for the conference title) USC Upstate
North Florida Stetson
USC Upstate

Big Sky

2013-14 2014-15
Eastern Washington Eastern Washington
Idaho State Idaho (from the WAC)
Montana Idaho State
Montana State Montana
North Dakota Montana State
Northern Arizona North Dakota
Northern Colorado Northern Arizona
Portland State Northern Colorado
Sacramento State Portland State
Southern Utah Sacramento State
Weber State Southern Utah
Weber State

Big South

2013-14 2014-15
North Division Campbell
Campbell Charleston Southern
High Point Coastal Carolina
Liberty Gardner-Webb
Longwood High Point
Radford Longwood
VMI (to the Southern Conference) Presbyterian
South Division Radford
Charleston Southern UNC Asheville
Coastal Carolina Winthrop
UNC Asheville

Big Ten

2013-14 2014-15
Illinois Illinois
Indiana Indiana
Iowa Iowa
Michigan Maryland (from the ACC)
Michigan State Michigan
Minnesota Michigan State
Nebraska Minnesota
Northwestern Nebraska
Ohio State Northwestern
Penn State Ohio State
Purdue Penn State
Wisconsin Purdue
Rutgers (from the American Athletic Conference)


2013-14 2014-15
College of Charleston College of Charleston
Delaware Delaware
Drexel Drexel
Hofstra Elon (from the Southern)
James Madison Hofstra
Northeastern James Madison
Towson Northeastern
UNC Wilmington Towson
William & Mary UNC Wilmington

William & Mary

Conference USA

2013-14 2014-15
Charlotte Charlotte
East Carolina (to the American Athletic Conference) Florida Atlantic
Florida Atlantic Florida International
Florida International Louisiana Tech
Louisiana Tech Marshall
Marshall Middle Tennessee
Middle Tennessee North Texas
North Texas Old Dominion
Old Dominion Rice
Rice Southern Mississippi
Southern Mississippi UTEP
UTSA Western Kentucky (from the Sun Belt)
Tulane (to the American Athletic Conference)
Tulsa (to the American Athletic Conference)

Southern Conference

2013-14 2014-15
Appalachian State (to the Sun Belt) Chattanooga
Chattanooga The Citadel
The Citadel ETSU (from the Atlantic Sun)
Davidson (to the Atlantic 10) Furman
Elon (to the Colonial) Mercer (from the Atlantic Sun)
Furman Samford
Georgia Southern (to the Sun Belt) UNC Greensboro
Samford VMI (from the Big South)
UNC Greensboro Western Carolina
Western Carolina Wofford


2013-14 2014-15
Abilene Christian Abilene Christian
Central Arkansas Central Arkansas
Houston Baptist Houston Baptist
Incarnate Word Incarnate Word
Lamar Lamar
McNeese State McNeese State
New Orleans New Orleans
Nicholls State Nicholls State
Northwestern State Northwestern State
Oral Roberts (to the Summit) Sam Houston State
Sam Houston State Southeastern Louisiana
Southeastern Louisiana Stephen F. Austin
Stephen F. Austin Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

Summit League

2013-14 2014-15
Denver Denver
North Dakota State
North Dakota State
South Dakota Oral Roberts (from the Southland)
South Dakota State South Dakota
Western Illinois South Dakota State

Western Illinois

Sun Belt

2013-14 2014-15
UALR Appalachian State (from the SoCon)
Arkansas State UALR
Georgia State Arkansas State
Louisiana-Lafayette Georgia Southern (from the SoCon)
Louisiana-Monroe Georgia State
South Alabama Louisiana-Lafayette
UT Arlington Louisiana-Monroe
Texas State South Alabama
Troy UT Arlington
Western Kentucky (to C-USA) Texas State


2013-14 2014-15
Cal State Bakersfield Cal State Bakersfield
Chicago State Chicago State
Grand Canyon (transitional, ineligible for the conference title) Grand Canyon (transitional, ineligible for the conference title)
Idaho (to the Big Sky) UMKC
UMKC New Mexico State
New Mexico State Seattle
Seattle UT Pan American
UT Pan American Utah Valley
Utah Valley

Enjoy this post? Follow Blogging the Bracket on Twitter and Like the site on Facebook.

Latest News

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Blogging the Bracket

You must be a member of Blogging the Bracket to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Blogging the Bracket. You should read them.

Join Blogging the Bracket

You must be a member of Blogging the Bracket to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Blogging the Bracket. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.